History of the Australasian Congress on Applied Mechanics (ACAM)

The first Australasian Congress on Applied Mechanics (ACAM1) conference was held at the Carlton Radisson Hotel in Melbourne from 21-23 February 1996. The organising committee was headed by Dr Raphael Grzebieta from Monash University as Chair. The conference was successful, with over 200 papers submitted from more than 20 countries.

Because of the success of ACAM1, it was decided by the National Committee on Applied Mechanics (NCAM) to repeat the conference roughly every three years. ACAM2 was then held at the Australian Defence Force Academy (ADFA) in Canberra from 10-12 February 1999, under the chairmanship of Professor John Baird.

ACAM has continued to be held every two or three years since. The conference has met the original hopes of the NCAM to provide a forum for practitioners of applied mechanics to meet regularly and  present developments in their own fields while learning of the latest developments in others.

Past ACAM conferences:

  • ACAM 9: 2017 in Sydney
  • ACAM 8: 2014 in Melbourne
  • ACAM 7: 2012 in Adelaide
  • ACAM 6: 2010 in Perth
  • ACAM 5: 2007 in Brisbane 
  • ACAM 4: 2005 in Melbourne
  • ACAM 3: 2002 in Sydney
  • ACAM 2: 1999 in Canberra
  • ACAM 1: 1996 in Melbourne

National Committee on Applied Mechanics (NCAM)

The National Committee on Applied Mechanics (NCAM) was founded in 1980. The goal was, and still is, to promote and disseminate knowledge in applied mechanics and engage in all activities between academics and industrial sectors.

Activities within the field of applied mechanics range from fluid mechanics, solid mechanics, mechanics of materials and structures, fracture mechanics, tribology, acoustics, rock mechanics, and condition monitoring, design, and its applications.

NCAM is part of the Mechanical College Board, along with other related groups such as the National Committee on Engineering Design, the National Committee on Nano-engineering, and the National Committee on Mechatronics.

The members of NCAM are:

Prof Raj Das (Chair)

 Raj Das

Prof Anna Paradowska (Deputy Chair) 

Anna Paradowska

Prof Paul Meehan 

Prof Paul Meehan 

Prof Arcady Dyskin 

Arcady Dyskin

Prof (Alex) Ching-Tai Ng

Alex Ching Tai Ng

Dr Xiaobo Yu

Dr Xiaobo Yu

Prof Andrew Chan

Prof Andrew Chan